Go Back   Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum > 1994 - 1999 Chevrolet Tahoe/GMC Yukon Year Models > Audio, Video and Alarm Discussions

Register to remove these ads.
Audio, Video and Alarm Discussions This forum is for discussing audio and video topics. Such as upgrading or repairing your A/V system.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2008, 10:45 PM   #1
crowdogg
Tahoeforum Noob
 
crowdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
crowdogg is on a distinguished road
Default Rear Door Speakers And Amp Answers

OK guys, I have seen many people ask questions, and I was too.
I have got some answers.

the rear door speakers are 6.5", the wire colors are:
Left side (-) tan (+) white
Right side (-) red (+) tan


I have a 2000 Tahoe Z71 old body ( same look as 95-99), the rear door speakers in my truck are factory amplified. only these two speakers though.
The amp in my truck was located under the dash, above the gas pedal, just behind the horizontal knee bolster bar/pipe. It is silver in color and about the size of a stick of deodorant (squared corners of course) (only common item with same size I could think of)

The wire harness going into the amp has 10 wires. Orange: 12v+, Black: ground, Red: R- output, 2 Tans: L-/R+ outputs, White: L+ output, Brown: L+ input, Yellow: L- input, Dark Blue: R+ input, Light Blue: R- input.

I'm not sure if the speaker inputs to the amp com directly from the stereo, from the rear roof speakers, or from a splice somewhere.

Now, If your truck has a custom stereo, and your rear door speakers are not working, it is most likely that the installer neglected to hook up the amp. This can be done by connecting the pink antenna wire from the factory harness to the blue remote or power antenna output of your custom deck. OR, you can just run a direct line from a constant 12v+ to your orange wire on your amp, but unless you put a switch on this, you will suffer battery drain as it will constantly be on.

If you have the factory deck, and your rear door speakers are not working, don't be dumb like me and start ripping apart the whole dash and such looking for the problem. I spent 6 hours today searching for the problem, before I finally called a Chevy dealership and had them print me out the wiring diagrams. COME TO FIND OUT: it was just a fuse. The amp on my truck draws its power from the cigar lighter circuit/fuse. Which in my truck, the fuse was blown. So after 6 hours of multimeter/voltmeter work, all I had to do was replace the fuse. At least I got to know my truck!

PICTURES:
1: pic of the wiring harness
2: pic of the amp relative to the gas pedal.(wires on top are the amp harness)
3: pic of amp from below dash (note: the heat sink that looks like an amp on top of pic, is not the amp)
4: speaker wiring diagram
5: amp power diagram

any other questions, or need bigger copies of photos, let me know.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAGE_048.jpg (46.4 KB, 467 views)
File Type: jpg IMAGE_049.jpg (71.2 KB, 441 views)
File Type: jpg IMAGE_050.jpg (63.9 KB, 445 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0752-small.jpg (60.3 KB, 493 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0753-small.jpg (58.6 KB, 501 views)

Last edited by crowdogg; 07-10-2008 at 11:21 PM.
crowdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 12:47 PM   #2
Hardwarz
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 239
Hardwarz is on a distinguished road
Default

Seriously, this should be a sticky. Or at least up into the Tech/how-to section.

Hardwarz
Hardwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 08:34 PM   #3
crowdogg
Tahoeforum Noob
 
crowdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
crowdogg is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardwarz View Post
Seriously, this should be a sticky. Or at least up into the Tech/how-to section.

Hardwarz
Thanks, I actually spent quite some time on this. It's good to see some people making use of it.
crowdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 02:35 PM   #4
GMCYukalade
Full Access Member
 
GMCYukalade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 535
GMCYukalade is on a distinguished road
Default

And also - remember that there are two wire-harness's for these tahoes/yukons - one w/out the AMP one w/ the AMP - if you got the one with-out than you aren't gonna have sound out of those two speakers either.. - and hook up the Power Ant. wire - that is the power for the Amp!
GMCYukalade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 11:19 AM   #5
JKmotorsports
tahoeyukonforum.com
 
JKmotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ATX
Age: 43
Posts: 2,661
JKmotorsports is on a distinguished road
Default

Nice bit of info. I'll sticky this so it's easy to find for everyone.
JKmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:58 PM   #6
Dr. Overkill
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Dr. Overkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: El Cajon, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 45
Dr. Overkill is on a distinguished road
Default

I don't think the 2-doors had this amp. They added an amp just for one more pair of door speakers on the 4-door models?!?

_dennis
Dr. Overkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 05:34 PM   #7
OuR97HoE
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
OuR97HoE is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow Thanks Great Info And Very Simply Put
OuR97HoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 11:18 PM   #8
Hardwarz
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 239
Hardwarz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Overkill View Post
I don't think the 2-doors had this amp. They added an amp just for one more pair of door speakers on the 4-door models?!?

_dennis
My 4 door Tahoe has an amp. Without the remote power/antenna wire attached, the amp won't activate.

Hardwarz
Hardwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 12:58 PM   #9
crowdogg
Tahoeforum Noob
 
crowdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
crowdogg is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Overkill View Post
I don't think the 2-doors had this amp. They added an amp just for one more pair of door speakers on the 4-door models?!?

_dennis
I'm not 100% sure, but I would have to agree with you and say that the 2 doors probably do not have an amp.
crowdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 12:59 PM   #10
crowdogg
Tahoeforum Noob
 
crowdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
crowdogg is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardwarz View Post
My 4 door Tahoe has an amp. Without the remote power/antenna wire attached, the amp won't activate.

Hardwarz
Is that a question, or just a re-enforcement of what I am saying, lol?
crowdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



 
Advertisement

Other Sponsors






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved and copyrighted
Fully Driven Auto Network
GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum