Go Back   Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum > 2007 + Chevrolet Tahoe / GMC Yukon / Cadillac Escalade Year Models > General Tahoe/Yukon/Escalade Discussion Forum

Register to remove these ads.
General Tahoe/Yukon/Escalade Discussion Forum General Discussion Forum



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2008, 10:40 PM   #1
doubler8
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SBN
Posts: 15
doubler8 is on a distinguished road
Default Tire Pressure Monitoring Warning Light Issue

The tire pressure monitoring warning light on the dash has been lighting up for me.

I have aftermarket wheels so I understand why, but is there any way to turn it off so the warning light stops coming on?
doubler8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:10 PM   #2
Ned's LTZ
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Camp Hill, Pa.
Posts: 195
Ned's LTZ is on a distinguished road
Default

you have to re-install your pressure monitors for the light to go out.
Ned's LTZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:54 PM   #3
doubler8
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SBN
Posts: 15
doubler8 is on a distinguished road
Default

How do I re-install the pressure monitors? Where are they?
doubler8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 09:37 PM   #4
preston
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Humble, TX
Age: 38
Posts: 30
preston is on a distinguished road
Default

They are in your original wheels. You have to have your original tires dismounted off the wheels to remove the sensors and then dismount your new tires off the wheels and install the sensors. Or you can buy a new set of TPMS (~$100) and have them installed in your aftermarket wheels.
preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 10:46 PM   #5
doubler8
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SBN
Posts: 15
doubler8 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks, but I am not going to spend the money on either of those 2 options.
Is there any other way to get the warning light to turn off?
doubler8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 11:11 PM   #6
preston
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Humble, TX
Age: 38
Posts: 30
preston is on a distinguished road
Default

Not that I am aware of. Might have to run by the dealer service department and see if they can reprogram your computer to disable that feature. Maybe someone with experience will chime in, but I haven't noticed any threads on the board with a firm answer to your question.

Good Luck!
preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:07 AM   #7
TN Tahoe
Full Access Member
 
TN Tahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bartlett, TN.
Posts: 256
TN Tahoe is on a distinguished road
Default

Buying sensors or removing the old ones and putting them on the current wheels are your best bet. The sensors hook right on to the end of the inside valve stem. Since this is considered a safety issue I’m not sure if you will get any dealer to remove the error signal from the computer. I think it might fall under like asking to disable a airbag.. Good luck
TN Tahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:41 AM   #8
08 Yukon
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 113
08 Yukon is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, the air pressure monitoring was a government safety mandate, because of the Ford Explorer roll-over problems. It is required to be on all 2007 and newer passenger vehicles. Your vehicle may not even pass inspection, if done by some dealerships, or stations.
08 Yukon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:56 PM   #9
sunkensub
Tahoeforum Noob
 
sunkensub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: denver colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 6
sunkensub is on a distinguished road
Default

I forgot to put moine back on at first. the mistake cost me about 30 bucks to dismount and remount with the sensors so it's totally worth the money not to see that message on the dash every five minutes!

The mechanic also has to program the size wheel size if you increased them a few inches. If you have 22's but the car is still set to 18's there will still be an error message. The dealer did it for free for me.
sunkensub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 01:10 PM   #10
stss95
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
stss95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
stss95 is on a distinguished road
Default

I am sure somebody will come out with some type of simulator that tells the computer that all 4 tires have pressure, just have to wait for the aftermarket to catch up.
stss95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



 
Advertisement

Other Sponsors






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved and copyrighted
Fully Driven Auto Network
GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum